Artful Anomalies

In recent space news, a supernova that has been spotted in our night sky has been found illuminated and enhanced by galaxies causing it to show up in our night sky in four separate spots. This discovery has lead me to question how other galaxies relate to our own.

In class we learned about different types of galaxies in comparison to our own. In a Lecture-Tutorial on Galaxy Classification, we looked at two different types of galaxies, elliptical and spiral, along with their characteristics. To begin with, our galaxy is a spiral galaxy and is greatly related to other galaxies of this type. Spiral galaxies are large, flat disks usually blue in color caused by gas and dust particles that make new star formation possible. They are distinctly known for their arms and cloudy appearance. Oppositely, elliptical galaxies are circular, smaller galaxies generally red in color due to having no new star production and being composed of mainly low-mass, red stars. These galaxies are generally a lot older than spiral galaxies, and inferring from the Lecture-Tutorial, may even be result of a galaxy in its old ages.

A little off topic, but in my reflection of completing this objective, I wanted to admire space a little. As an artist, I find space extremely beautiful and I would like to recreate pictures I see of them. Essentially, space is my muse at this moment, and I plan on creating some very detailed painting of galaxies and space occurrences that I find phenomenal. What really interested me on this objective was actually getting to learn the distinct differences about these galaxies. Art to me is best made when someone is enveloped in the idea and becomes an expert with an understanding beyond the object that is on the canvas. I have been waiting all semester to understand what galaxies are and how to accurately portray them, so this objective really struck with me and I will probably refer back to it when I am making art.

Source: space.com

Leave a Reply

